Phab Awards at House of Lords

The annual Phab Awards hosted by Baroness Campbell of Surbiton, DBE took place on 6th October 2016 at The House of Lords. Three awards were presented: The Paul Hope Award, The Louis Goldberg Award and The Lord Morris Award.

We had many nominees for The Paul Hope Award, but the winner was Jack Edwards (below right, with John Corless and Baroness Campbell) from Oldham Phab Club.


Jack established Oldham Phab in 2000, with just a few volunteers, there are now over 60 members and more than 15 volunteers. Members are encouraged to try many new activities and this has built up their confidence and self-esteem. A full report about Jack will be published in the Phab magazine in January 2017, with information and pictures on all of the other wonderful nominees from our fantastic clubs.

The Louis Goldberg Award, which is awarded to young people, was presented by Penny Mordaunt MP, Minister of State for Disabled People, Health, and Work. We are pleased to announce that the joint winners of the Louis Goldberg Award were Sophie Golding from Epsom Phab and Amy Parks from Uckfield Phab.


The Lord Morris Award was presented in memory of the late Lord Morris of Manchester, who dedicated his life to campaigning for the rights of disabled people. This award recognises an outstanding contribution to the development and promotion of Phab’s aim of inclusion through schools, colleges, and universities. We were delighted that Lady Morris presented this to Nick Feingold (below), who has established a successful Phab group at Nottingham University and is assisting with setting up groups at universities nationwide.